ALIVE
ArtEventsFictionInterviewsMad Art CastpodcastScience

Mad Art Cast: Scott Sigler’s ALIVE

This week the Mad Art Cast crew is joined by Scott Sigler: New York Times bestselling novelist, XCOM enthusiast and (full disclosure) business partner to our own ARealGirl. Scott’s new book, ALIVE, comes out a week from today. The jacket copy reads thusly: For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, …

READ MORE →
_1406485070
FictionFilm

Mad Max is The Littlest Hobo

There has been a little bit of debate about whether Mad Max – Fury Road was wrong, like someone made a horrible mistake and they released the wrong movie.  It’s supposed to be about Max, right? His name is right there in the title. Fury Road, though, is much more …

READ MORE →
tumblr_nl323flIR81r9h4heo1_1280
FictionGeekeryScience

The Riddle of Valyrian Steel

In the Song of Ice and Fire series, a Valyrian steel sword is the finest blade any warrior could hope to carry. Said to be “Stronger than any common steel, lighter, harder, sharper,” with dark, visible ripples running through it showing the thousand foldings needed to craft such a blade. It is …

READ MORE →
Participant-2014-Web-Banner
FictionGeekeryWriting

On Failure: Nanowrimo Update 4

In which, two months later, a novel is still not written, most of my planning fell to the wayside, and I do not feel much at all like a hero. So…. basically, that went as well as could have been expected.

READ MORE →
GirlsonGames
feminismFictionGeekery

Girls on Games Interview

I was recently interviewed by Girls On Games and, as far as I can tell, did not make a complete ass of myself. @Brianna_Melina was an utterly delightful interviewer and did a great job of not making me feel naked in front of the camera (I’m not wearing any pants)

READ MORE →
Zita-Cover-300rgb
ComicfeminismFictionWriting

Zita the Spacegirl, Amelia Cole, And the Exciting Growth Of Girl Adventure Comics

Last month saw the much anticipated release of sequel volumes to two of indie comics’ most imaginative titles: Amelia Cole and the Hidden War and The Return of Zita the Spacegirl. The success of these independent comics, along with more mainstream titles like Marvel’s Ms. Marvel, Black Widow, and Captain …

READ MORE →
hntpau
FictionWriting

Happy Birthday to Us and Free Stuff to You

I wrote and published a fantasy novel, partly due to the support offered by the members and readers of this blog. Last year, I though I would show my thanks by giving away my novel for free during our anniversary week. While it may be disappointing to get the same …

READ MORE →
cursebrand
FictionWriting

Cursebrand – Chapter 19

This is the nineteenth chapter in an ongoing fantasy novel being released part-by-part, almost every Thursday. To start reading from the first chapter, click here. For the previous chapter, click here. For an explanation of why there is a novel being published on this site, click here. Chapter 19 Brand …

READ MORE →