hptitle
FictionGeekeryWriting

Harry Potter and the Consequences of Overthinking Children’s Literature

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve spent much more time lately thinking about Harry Potter than is typically considered healthy for a grown man. Over the past few months, I’ve rewatched the movies, played the Lego games, read most of the books, listened to podcasts, and spent a …

READ MORE →
fan-fic-5_zps9ptlpyug
FictionGeekeryWriting

In Defence of Fanfiction – A Convert’s Tale

Fanfiction has a pretty bad reputation. Part of it is earned, but a lot of it is just because it sits pretty far down the list on Maslow’s hierarchy of nerds. Nerds have a pervasive inferiority complex so we spend a lot of time distinguishing ourselves from our perceived lessers …

READ MORE →
canlit_featured
Fiction

Canadian Content

Up beyond the Wall in the wilds of Canada, we have strict rules. 35% of all content must be Canadian. That includes literature, so we have our own Canadian canon. Stories about dogs, snow, prairies, and crap weather mostly. Now Adam Brady, a cunning soul decided to test our literary …

READ MORE →
NHST Banner
ComicFictionFilmGeekery

NHST – Time Turner

How Prisoner of Azkaban should have ended.

READ MORE →
Ann Lechie via her website.
FictionWriting

Ancillary Mercy: Flip’n all the scripts.

Ancillary Mercy is the third and final book in the Ann Leckie Imperial Radch trilogy.  It started with Ancillary Justice, winner of the Hugo, Nebula, British Science Fiction, Locus and Arthur C. Clarke Awards (let me know if I missed any).  The Amazon listing on Ancillary Justice is a good intro: On …

READ MORE →
Spoopymander_twitter
FeaturedFictionGamesGeekeryWriting

Twitter Poll Text Adventure

A few nights ago, I started using the new Twitter Poll feature to tell a sort of text based adventure story. I’d put up a poll, wait about ten minutes, and then write the next tweet based on the results. It’s been a lot of fun so i thought I’d …

READ MORE →
red-magician-feature
FeaturedFiction

Book Nerd – The Red Magician

My uncle Pierre had a lot of books, which are now mine. He had a knack for picking books, but I tend to read them at random. Some of them are good, some of them are trash, but some of them are great. The Red Magician by Lisa Goldstein is …

READ MORE →
ALIVE
ArtEventsFictionInterviewsMad Art CastpodcastScience

Mad Art Cast: Scott Sigler’s ALIVE

This week the Mad Art Cast crew is joined by Scott Sigler: New York Times bestselling novelist, XCOM enthusiast and (full disclosure) business partner to our own ARealGirl. Scott’s new book, ALIVE, comes out a week from today. The jacket copy reads thusly: For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, …

READ MORE →