canlit_featured
Fiction

Canadian Content

Up beyond the Wall in the wilds of Canada, we have strict rules. 35% of all content must be Canadian. That includes literature, so we have our own Canadian canon. Stories about dogs, snow, prairies, and crap weather mostly. Now Adam Brady, a cunning soul decided to test our literary …

READ MORE →
NHST Banner
ComicFictionFilmGeekery

NHST – Time Turner

How Prisoner of Azkaban should have ended.

READ MORE →
Ann Lechie via her website.
FictionWriting

Ancillary Mercy: Flip’n all the scripts.

Ancillary Mercy is the third and final book in the Ann Leckie Imperial Radch trilogy.  It started with Ancillary Justice, winner of the Hugo, Nebula, British Science Fiction, Locus and Arthur C. Clarke Awards (let me know if I missed any).  The Amazon listing on Ancillary Justice is a good intro: On …

READ MORE →
Spoopymander_twitter
FeaturedFictionGamesGeekeryWriting

Twitter Poll Text Adventure

A few nights ago, I started using the new Twitter Poll feature to tell a sort of text based adventure story. I’d put up a poll, wait about ten minutes, and then write the next tweet based on the results. It’s been a lot of fun so i thought I’d …

READ MORE →
red-magician-feature
FeaturedFiction

Book Nerd – The Red Magician

My uncle Pierre had a lot of books, which are now mine. He had a knack for picking books, but I tend to read them at random. Some of them are good, some of them are trash, but some of them are great. The Red Magician by Lisa Goldstein is …

READ MORE →
ALIVE
ArtEventsFictionInterviewsMad Art CastpodcastScience

Mad Art Cast: Scott Sigler’s ALIVE

This week the Mad Art Cast crew is joined by Scott Sigler: New York Times bestselling novelist, XCOM enthusiast and (full disclosure) business partner to our own ARealGirl. Scott’s new book, ALIVE, comes out a week from today. The jacket copy reads thusly: For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, …

READ MORE →
_1406485070
FictionFilm

Mad Max is The Littlest Hobo

There has been a little bit of debate about whether Mad Max – Fury Road was wrong, like someone made a horrible mistake and they released the wrong movie.  It’s supposed to be about Max, right? His name is right there in the title. Fury Road, though, is much more …

READ MORE →
tumblr_nl323flIR81r9h4heo1_1280
FictionGeekeryScience

The Riddle of Valyrian Steel

In the Song of Ice and Fire series, a Valyrian steel sword is the finest blade any warrior could hope to carry. Said to be “Stronger than any common steel, lighter, harder, sharper,” with dark, visible ripples running through it showing the thousand foldings needed to craft such a blade. It is …

READ MORE →