P1130825_small
ArtEventsGeekery

This Steampunk Beats Your Cosplay

November 20-22nd Lumen Jewelry was a vendor at TeslaCon 6 in Madison Wisconsin.  I’ve been to large and small cons, but never a Steampunk or an immersion event. I was blown away, 95% of the 1600 attendees were in costume.  And over 50% of them were elaborate costumes with accessories, makeup, …

READ MORE →
RL_tedx2015
Eventsfeminism

Engineering is Actually Girly

About a month ago I checked something off my bucket list, I gave a TEDx Talk.  Queue the montage of months of practicing and nervous breakdowns.  Why did I want to do this again? Because this is my story and it is important for the world to hear it.  Engineering …

READ MORE →
MAL contributor Brian in a lightsaber battle with Kelly. Both are in Star Wars costumes.
CraftingEventsGeekeryMeta

MAL-o-ween Costume Review of Awesomeness

Welcome, November! That fine autumn month, full of pumpkin spice and everything nice. But wait, what’s that I hear? The sound of… CHRISTMAS MUSIC? Waitwaitwait, I’m not done with Halloween yet! Personally, I’m a bit resistant to jingling bells prior to Thanksgiving week, but YMMV. Since Halloween may be the craftiest of …

READ MORE →
ALIVE
ArtEventsFictionInterviewsMad Art CastpodcastScience

Mad Art Cast: Scott Sigler’s ALIVE

This week the Mad Art Cast crew is joined by Scott Sigler: New York Times bestselling novelist, XCOM enthusiast and (full disclosure) business partner to our own ARealGirl. Scott’s new book, ALIVE, comes out a week from today. The jacket copy reads thusly: For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, …

READ MORE →
Participant-2014-Web-Banner
ActivitiesEventsWriting

Officially underwater: Nanowrimo update 3

Day: 18 Goal word count: 30,000 Word count: 25,013 Mood: Overwhelmed Prognosis: Need to sit down and write.

READ MORE →
DPL
EventsPerformance Artphysics

A Tale of Physics, Betrayal, and Art: The World Premiere of Delicate Particle Logic

It has been 70 years since nuclear fission co-discoverer Lise Meitner was passed over for the Nobel Prize, and for many, the wound is still raw and open. While we largely understand why Chien-Shiung Wu or Rosalind Franklin were denied the award (the former, because experimentalists are always passed over …

READ MORE →
Participant-2014-Web-Banner
ActivitiesEventsWriting

Writing by the seat of my pants: Nanowrimo update 2

Day: 10 Goal word count: 16,667 Current word count: 17,781 Mood: Circumspect Prognosis: I did a lot of cleaning up today, which I hope will set me up better from here on out.

READ MORE →
Participant-2014-Web-Banner
EventsWriting

Why not just write a novel: NaNoWriMo update 1

This year, for the first time in a few years, I’m participating in Nanowrimo. For those of you who might not know, Nanowrimo stands for “National Novel Writing Month” and is (somewhat counterintuitively) an international, online community dedicated to writing novella-length pieces of prose in November. The goal: write 50,000 …

READ MORE →